Top GNWT Menu

Affirmative Action

Search Excluded Employees' Handbook

The Government is committed to achieving a representative workforce.  When the Government hires, people belonging to certain designated groups are given priority.  The priority ranges from #1 (highest) to #4 (lowest).  There are different priorities depending on the type of job.

For management and non-traditional jobs, the priorities are: 

  • 1a.Indigenous Aboriginal female persons 
  • 1b.Indigenous Aboriginal male persons 
  • 2.Resident women 
  • 3.Indigenous Non-Aboriginal persons or Resident Disabled persons 
  • 4.All other applicants

For all other jobs, the priorities are: 

  1. Indigenous Aboriginal persons 
  2. Indigenous Non-Aboriginal persons or Resident Disabled persons 
  3. All other applicants

Indigenous Aboriginal Persons are those persons who are descendants of the Dene, Inuit or Métis people, indigenous to the present boundaries of the Northwest Territories and include any aboriginal persons resident at birth pursuant to Section 7.1 of the Vital Statistics Act and any Canadian aboriginal persons who have lived more than half of their lives in the Northwest Territories.

Indigenous Non-Aboriginal Persons are non-aboriginal persons born in the Northwest Territories or who have lived more than half their lives in the Northwest Territories.

Resident Women are women who are living in and have lived in the Northwest Territories for at least one year immediately prior to applying on a competition.

Resident Disabled Persons are persons who are living in and have lived in the Northwest Territories for at least one year immediately prior to applying on a competition and who are at a disadvantage because of a medically certified learning, mental, emotional, or physical disability where the disability handicaps the person in taking advantage of employment, training and career advancement opportunities.  A person without such a disability would not encounter these difficulties.

Physical disabilities may be visible or non-visible.  They may include any degree of paralysis, amputation, lack of physical co-ordination, blindness or visual impairment, deafness or hearing impairment, muteness or speech impairment, or physical reliance on a guide dog, a wheelchair or other appliances or devices.  Learning, mental or psychiatric disabilities may include learning or comprehension incapacities, which are significant and persistent but permit the disabled individual to carry out duties and perform tasks in a reliable manner under a reasonable amount of supervision.

For these purposes, Management Positions are positions within the Senior Management Group including Deputy Ministers, Assistant Deputy Ministers, Superintendents, Directors and Chief Executive Officers, where all the positions included in this group are determined by the Department of Human Resources.

Non-Traditional Occupations are occupations where 70% or more of the incumbents are male and there are ten or more incumbents in an occupational category or sub-group as determined by the Department of Human Resources.

You can only include yourself in one priority group.  For example, you will not get extra consideration for being an Aboriginal, resident female.